

Board Meeting Minutes April 5, 2023

Board Meeting Minutes April 5, 2023, 1:00 pm

VISION - Westwind School Division will be a collaborative community of engaged learners that inspire all students to realize their full and complete potential

MISSION - The mission of Westwind School Division is to foster engaging and student-centered learning environments that will inspire each student to strive for personal excellence and allow all learners to thrive.

VALUES - Our values guide our behaviour, structure our operations and shape our Division strategies. For every decision we make, we will hold ourselves accountable to these values and ask:

- Is this what is best for our students?
- Will this help us build trust and improve relationships?
- How will this decision further education, inform practice and enhance learning?

TERRITORIAL LAND ACKNOWLEDGMENT - We respectfully acknowledge that this event is taking place on the traditional territory of the Blackfoot Confederacy in Southern Alberta

1. Called to Order - The meeting was called to order at 1:05 pm by Board Chair Mr. Jim Ralph.

Trustees Present

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

Others Present

Mr. Darren Mazutinec - Superintendent

Ms. Pam Boyson - Executive Assistant

Ms. Rebecca Bultsma - Communications Officer

- Mr. Rod Wendorff offered the prayer.
- Approval of Agenda

Motion 2023 - 31 Moved by Josh Smith to approve the April 5, 2023, agenda as presented.

Those who voted in favor:

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

There were no votes against this motion. Motion carried.

Approval of Board Meeting Minutes

Motion 2023 - 32 Moved by Ross Blackmer to approve the March 13, 2023 minutes as presented.

Those who voted in favor:

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

There were no votes against this motion. Motion carried.

Public input, 3 minutes per person to a maximum of 15 minutes

Apr 7 - Good Friday

Apr 10-14 - Spring Break

Apr 19 - ASBA Zone 6, Leth Sch Div 10:30 am

Apr 21-23 - ASCA Annual Conference, Edmonton

Apr 24-26 - FNMI Gathering, Edmonton

May 22 - Victoria Day

May 26 - Stirling Sch Grad 6 pm

June 1 - Bd Mtg

Jun 4-6 - ASBA SGM, Calgary

Jun 15 - Div BBQ

Apr 26 Div SCh Council Mtg

May 4 Div dance, Magrath

May 11- Bd Mtg

May 17 - ASBA Zone 6, Horizon Sch Div 10:30 am

May 17 - Edwin Parr Awards Evening, Heritage Inn, Taber

May 18 - CHS FNMI Honor Night

Jun 20 - MTV Grad, 6 pm Jun 21 - ASBA Zone 6 Jun 23 - RHS Grad, 7 pm Jun 27 - MHS Grad, 6 pm

Reports

- Superintendent Report Mr. Darren Mazutinec
 - i. Month in Review
- o Communications Report Ms. Rebecca Bultsma
 - i. Report
- Committees
 - Management Committee looking for a date for negotiations in May
 - Student Engagement Committee
 - i. Board ATA Liaison Committee
 - ii. ASBA Zone 6
 - April 19, 2023, Lethbridge School Division, 10:30 am
 - Edwin Parr attendance May 17, 2023
 - iii. Policies & Procedures
 - i. Board Policy 8: COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD
 - 1. This policy will be forwarded to the next board meeting.
 - Discussion & Information Items
 - i. OH&S Officer Laura Stocker
 - Laura shared a report to inform the Board of some of the bigger projects she is currently working on, which include:
 - Started safety patrol groups.
 - o Create and implement a safety program.
 - o Review traffic flow around each school.
 - o Create a disability management/return to work program.
 - Creating an air and water quality program.
 - Creating a hearing prevention program.

- ii. CHS New Principal Announcement
 - Mr. Cody Toone will be the next principal of Cardston High School, effective for the 2023/2024 school year.
- iii. CES and CJHS presentation
 - CES Principal Stacy Jacobs and CJHS Principal Jeremy Payne asked the Board for financial support to organize a community Pow Wow on June 21, 2023.
- iv. Terry Fox Foundation
 - Six schools including Mountain View, Magrath Elementary School, Spring Glen Elementary School, Stirling School, Raymond Elementary School, and Cardston Elementary School. They collected \$2,955.10.
- April 4 Principal Meeting report
 - ASU Redesigning the Education Workforce
- Donations
 - \$1500 Jesse Harker Professional Corporation for Inclusive Education Playground at Raymond Elementary School.

Motion 2023 - 33 Moved by Mr. Rod Wendorff to approve the donations as presented.

Those who voted in favor:

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

There were no votes against this motion. Motion carried.

- Grade 12 Engagement
 - i. "Celebrate and Honour" Dance May 5, 2023

Motion 2023 - 34 Moved by Tami Tolley to go in camera at 2:50 pm.

Those who voted in favor:

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

There were no votes against this motion.

Motion carried.

In Camera

Motion 2023 - 35 Moved by Anna-Joyce Frank to come out of in camera at 3:55 pm.

Those who voted in favor:

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

There were no votes against this motion. Motion carried.

• Public input, 3 minutes per person to 15 minutes

Motion 2023 - 36 Moved by Anna-Joyce Frank that the Board of Trustees support the Cardston Elementary School and Cardston Junior High School's first annual Pow Wow with a \$5,000 donation.

Those who voted in favor:

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

There were no votes against this motion.

Motion carried.

Motion 2023 - 37 Moved by Tami Tolley to adjourn the meeting at 3:36 pm.

Those who voted in favor:

Mr. Doug Smith

Mr. Josh Smith

Mr. Jim Ralph

Ms. Tami Tolley

Mr. Colin Paterson

Ms. Jessca Payne

Mr. Rod Wendorff

Mr. Ross Blackmer

Ms. Anna-Joyce Frank

There were no votes against this motion.

Motion carried.

Next Board Meeting - May 11, 2023